Graduate Council Meeting Minutes 140 Toomey Hall 12:00pm Wednesday, January 4, 2017

Present: J. Semon, G. Hilmas, J. Winiarz, W. Jiang, S. Corns, L. Gertsch, M. Insall, J. Rovey, J. Newkirk, N. Weidner, C. Dagli. I. Morgan, C. Mborah, U. Koylu, V. Allada (also for R. Marley), K. Drowne for S. Roberts

Not Present: S. N. Balakrishnan, P. Neogi, C. Mendoza, C.-S. Kim, M. Davis, D. Wright, P. Worsey, W. Yang, M. Meagher, B. Flachsbart, F. Liou, F. Nah, A. Alajo. B. Bai, M. Schulz, S. Anandan, A. Hurson, R. Brow

Chair Umit Koylu called the meeting to order, 12:00 pm

Roll call-J. Winiarz

- 1. Approval of minutes from November 2, 2016 meeting. Motion to approve as written: Corns; second: Hilmas; approved
- 2. Stipend X recommendation for AY17-18
 - a. Several council members suggested that 1.1X 1.3X may be too large of a raise (as much as 30%) and may be difficult to accommodate on existing grants
 - b. Several council members suggested that data should be collected from comparable institutions to justify the recommended 5% across-the-board raise, especially concerning; tuitions waivers, tiered stipends, and their impacts
- 3. Graduate Faculty Rules & Regulations
 - a. Update to wording in Section IV. ELECTION TO MEMBERSHIP, D
 - b. Motion from committee: approved
- 4. Update wording in the graduate catalog regarding minimum scores for TOEFL and IELTS for graduate students
 - a. Motion to approve with amendments: Insall; second: Gertsch; approved with the following amendments
 - i. "ESL" should be spelled out
 - ii. By whom ESL is "recognized" should be indicated (ex. Dept. of Edu., ICE, INS, etc.)
- 5. Graduate Coordinator Guidelines Formation of a committee to establish guidelines for graduate coordinators focusing on "lessons learned" and "best practices"
 - a. Several council members suggested that
 - i. Any such committee should consist of experienced graduate coordinators, and
 - ii. The graduate coordinators should be consulted to ascertain whether this endeavor should be pursued
- 6. Awards Committee
 - a. a. Nominated were; Matt Insall (science), Joe Newkirk (engineering), Kate Drowne (arts/humanities/social sciences), Keng Siau (business), and Amanda Kossuth (staff)

Meeting adjourned by Chair Koylu, 1pm